Lowrie Still on Top of His Game

PAWTUCKET It’s only June, but PawSox shortstop Jed Lowrie has already had a season’s worth of experiences.

The highly-touted Red Sox infield prospect has spent time in both the Pawtucket and Boston line-up and has also spent some time on the sideline with an injury.

Throughout all that activity he has remained focused on making sure he keeps his eye on the prize…a full time Major League job.

“I hit .300 last year”, said Lowrie, “I feel like if I keep my same approach I’m able to maintain those kind of numbers.”

Entering Wednesday night’s game Lowrie was hitting .299 with the PawSox and riding a 12 game hitting streak. (He extended the streak to 13 games with a double in the PawSox’ 11-3 win over Louisville)

“I’m seeing the ball well” Lowrie said, “Its easy to say that when you’re on a 12 game hitting streak. I’ve been taking the same approach…taking my walks…and hitting balls when I get the opportunity to when I get my pitch to hit. When I go out there I’m trying to do something every at bat to help us win.”

He has already proven his mettle in the 17 games he spent with the Red Sox earlier this season. Called up to replace the injured Alex Cora, Lowrie hit .310, with four doubles, a homer, and seven RBI’s. He also played errorless ball in the field, starting games at second, short, and third for Boston.

He was optioned back to Pawtucket on May 11th and was able to play in only four games before being sidelined for close to two weeks with a strained ligament in his left wrist.

“It doesn’t bother me too much anymore” Lowrie said. But it still in the back of my mind. But it’s to the point where I can play through any of the pain that’s still there.”

Lowrie said he has worked with PawSox trainer Greg Barajas on exercises to strengthen his wrist and continues to have it heavily wrapped each game.

“When you stretch out a ligament like that, it’s not as strong and you gotta work at it to get it back to where it was.”

The switch-hitting Lowrie said he sometimes feels some tension in the wrist when he’s batting from the right side of the plate.

“Jed’s a good hitter” said PawSox Manager Ron Johnson, “He controls the zone. It’s hard to get into what he does because he’s such a good player.”

It’s evident that Lowrie’s workman-like approach will eventually pay off in the form of a permanent big league assignment.

“You can only control so much”, said Lowrie, “I feel like I’ve been doing it all year. The one thing I can control is my approach.”

Leave a Reply

